Vacation is over; classes will start again

University of San Carlos, Cebu City.

University of San Carlos, Cebu City.

Vacation is over and classes of entire schools and colleges have to start classes tomorrow. Summer vacation (from late March to early June) is the funniest period of the year for any students at all levels, from kinder to college.  My Facebook news feed of today has been flooded with statuses by my friends (mostly at the college level) about the last day of long summer vacation and the first day of class tomorrow with sadness that vacation is already over. I myself almost didn’t spend summer vacation because I had to take summer classes with subjects where I haven’t taken during the regular school calender for the past two years of attending Political Science at the University of San Carlos.  This was the second consecutive year where I had to attend summer classes, but it was necessary for me to graduate by March 2015 at earliest or by October 2015 at latest.  We understand on why lament about vacation’s last day however, life is not all about relaxing anywhere with our friends but it is all about achieving our ambitions we want in the future that cannot be achieved without resorting to hard work like attending school to finish a degree then gain a stable job or start a business to support ourselves and perhaps, our future respective families. Without to resorting hard work for most of a year, I don’t think we would finish our studies, let alone achieving our ambitions.

For the past 15 years attending school, I would say that I am doing the right thing to continue with it until I finish my studies in two years, despite of temptations to quit schooling which I could have after my elementary graduation due to my severe depression I suffered when my friend of mine suddenly quit from schooling, a year before I graduated from elementary. For the past 15 years attending school, I am not aiming for accolades like being an honor student, let alone of being a dean’s lister, but I am only aiming to fulfill all curricular requisites given to me for a particular year in order to go further until right now, where I am an incoming third year college student and hopefully, I could finish my studies in two years time.  For the past 15 years attending school, I have learned my things in my life that a decade ago, I’d expect not to learn it because of the availability of the internet where I could obtain lots of information from it and share it to everyone online through social networking sites, online discussion groups, and many more.

What I wish for the next 15 years or beyond is that for myself of course, I could get a stable job anywhere in the world and for my countrymen, my advocacy that I have been fighting for can be implemented for real change of our country that every Filipinos have wish for it for many years. I have already accepted the predicament that I cannot be a leader of my country someday because I am just a merely average middle-class citizen who does not have a political connection with the government, let alone having a political family name, but what I and most Filipinos who are aspiring for real change in our political and economic system want is to have our and future leaders to listen our sentiments for change.

My colleagues, I would like to say that if you have a determination and money to attend school, do not waste the money and time given by your parents for unnecessary things like excess nightlife, taking illegal dangerous drugs, having a sex with someone without knowing future responsibilities, skipping school classes, and many more and give your utmost effect on schooling because finishing of it will assure you a better future and an assurance to live within your means until you die.