Dolphy passes away

The King of Philippine Comedy, Dolphy. Credits to Voltaire Domingo/NPPA Images.

Last night when I slept, a news came out that the King of Philippine Comedy, Dolphy had pass away after for years of battling with acute pneumonia. His death was unexpected as he initially showed a signs of recovery after he was brought last month at Makati Medical Center.

Dolphy’s contribution to our country was enormous as for many years in the show business industry, he contributed a lots of humors and comedies to our daily lives as a Filipino and his passing put the Filipino people including me into mourning as we all know already that there would be only one Dolphy in our lives and no other Filipino comedians could emulate on what he did.

For 19 years of my existence in this world, I grew up with Dolphy’s works like Home Along Da Riles, Home Along Da Airport, John En Shirley, and many others although I never lived up during Dolphy’s prime when he starred as “John H. Purontong” together with late Nida Blanca and Maricel Soriano. I really impressed on what Dophy’s contribution to our culture and I would assure to the Filipino people that no one could surpass Dolphy’s works in the future.

With his passing, I would like to express my condolences to the family of Rodolfo Vera Quizon or well known as Dolphy.